We have been made aware of of a mistake in our rules. In regards to Air Retreive and a handler being able to pass. You are allowed to pass at any distance, as many times as you wish EXCEPT at Qualifiers and in a Finals for AR. The intention of this rule is to avoid having an issue of a handler reaching the top of a division then passing and missing at the further distance to insure a win at the lower distance. In all other competitions, this is not a factor so passing is allowed. If a handler chooses to pass, and then misses, they will be awarded the last successful grab as their score.
This is the updated rule effective 8/5/2016
The Air Retrieve distance will start at 6 feet out from the front of the dock and move at 1 foot increments. You can start at any distance. A handler may choose to pass as often as they wish. If they do not have a successful grab at the farther distance, then they will only earn a score of the last successful grab. The exception to this is at any Qualifier event or during a Finals for AR. At these events, once you start at your distance you cannot pass on the next distance. For example: If you attempt at 17 ft. and successfully grabs the bumper, you cannot pass , you must make a valid attempt at 18 ft.